Junior Women's (U19) 2020-2022 Key Dates and Events

This page outlines all the events and key events for the NZ Indoor Junior Women's team. Please note, these dates are intended to be a guide only, and are subject to change. There may be events and/or training camps added at later dates.
There is a new two year cycle for the Junior Women's team, starting in October 2020. So, from October 2020 the Junior Women's team is for athletes born in 2004 and 2005.
Following the open trials in October 2020, there will be a wider training squad named (in early 2021) who will train together to prepare for either a domestic event, or the Australian Junior Volleyball Champs.
There will then be a further selection camp in October 2021 to finalise selections for the 2022 Asian Champs.
It's expected that all potential NZ Junior Women athletes participate in the IPC for their respective regions.

Junior Women's 2020-2022 Overview


2020 Junior Mens and Womens Trials

2020 Junior Mens and Womens Trials 

Volleyball New Zealand are pleased to hold open trials for the Junior Indoor Programme (athletes born 2003/2004 for Junior Men and 2004/2005 for Junior Women) for the next two years.  


North Island Trial 

Location: The Peak, Hamilton  

Dates/Times: October 24th: 12:00pm-5pm, October 25th 9am -4pm  

South Island Trial  

Location: Cowles Stadium (17th) and Pioneer Stadium (18th), Christchurch   

Dates/Times: October 17th: 12:00pm-5pm, October 18th 9am -4pm  

Registrations will begin at 12.00pm on Saturday with trials beginning at 12:30pm, so please make sure you turn up to register before 12:30pm. 
Please note that the first day will be at the Cowles Stadium and the second day at the Pioneer Stadium!


Junior programme info 

The Junior programme for 2021/2022 will involve trials, training, and competitive opportunities internally and abroad, culminating with the pinnacle event of Asian Champs in 2022. The purpose of the junior programme is to start to prepare our best athletes in that age group to become future VolleyFerns and VolleyBlacks. 


The cycle will begin with open trials in Hamilton and Christchurch in October before junior training squads (selections following these trials) will assemble following New Zealand Secondary School Champs. A minimum of one team from each age level within the Junior Programme (eg one 2003 and one 2004 team for men; and one 2004 and one 2005 team for the women) will then be selected for an internal competition or to attend Australian Junior Volleyball Champs in 2021.  

Trials will then be held again in October 2021, before a New Zealand Junior Team will be selected to prepare for Asian Champs in 2022.   


This try out is open to current NZ Citizens born in the years 2003-2004 for men and 2004-2005 for women. Athletes born after those years may contact Volleyball New Zealand for approval to attend. 


Cost for this trial is $140. This will include a trial shirt and participation in the trial. All travel and food costs will be the athlete’s responsibility.
Junior Women
Junior Women Development


22.04.2021 - 23.04.2021
North Island Indoor Development Camp
28.04.2021 - 29.04.2021
South Island Indoor Development Camp
03.07.2021 - 04.07.2021
Christchurch Tournament
10.07.2021 - 11.07.2021
National Volleyball League Final
31.07.2021 - 08.08.2021
07.08.2021 - 08.08.2021
2nd Christchurch Tournament
25.08.2021 - 05.09.2021
Asian Champs Women China
12.09.2021 - 19.09.2021
Asian Champs Men Japan
11.10.2021 - 12.10.2021
Beach Development Camp North Island
14.10.2021 - 15.10.2021
Beach Development Camp South Island
© 2017 Volleyball NZ. All Rights Reserved. Designed By GSA Design