Volley Ferns wider squad named
Holly Chandler is among the 26 domestic players named in the wider Volley Ferns squad for the 2024-25 international cycle. Photo by www.phototek.co.nz

Volley Ferns wider squad named

The wider squad of the Volley Ferns for the 2024-25 international cycle has been confirmed with domestic and international groups of players named by coach Adam Watson on Friday.

The squad includes a number of players who have been through the national programmes and previous Volley Ferns teams as well as a cohort of players from the Junior Women’s team set to represent Aotearoa in China this year at the Asian Volleyball Confederation U-20 Women’s event.

Watson says that blend of experience and youth is a great place to be for the group.

“To have both veterans who can share their craft and then our players transitioning from the junior space into the senior space is great to see,” Watson said.

“At the same time, it is valuable to have those into the squad who haven’t been through the national programme and can bring their experiences they’ve accumulated through their own journeys.

“After viewing IPC, we also have a number of internationals and it’s great to see them back in our domestic competition bringing back another level of play to New Zealand.” 

Watson says the recent trial process was competitive and provided insights into the playing group vying for a place in the senior international arena.

“We were really pleased with the trial process,” Watson said.

“We had a great spread of athlete representation from across the Regional Associations, so it was great to make connections with athletes from around the country.

“There is a massive willingness from the athletes to have a growth mindset and put in conscious effort into developing their game, both technically and tactically.”

Watson and the group now begin preparations for the team’s next camp in Auckland in July – with connections and team culture a major focus.

Volley Ferns wider squad 2024-25

Domestic Group

Anaya Cole (WECA)
Brieana Crosbie (Waikato)
Charlie Vail (Harbour)
Chloe Kemble (Bay of Plenty)
Chynae Stark (Canterbury)
Emma Mason (Canterbury)
Hayley Flatz (Harbour)
Holly Chandler (Tasman)
Italia Tiatia (WECA)
Jahmal Beckmannflay (WECA)
Kalani Ruri (Bay of Plenty)
Kalea Norton (Harbour)
Katie Adamson (Harbour)
Kyla Te Wano Greensill (Waikato)
Laina Samia (Hawkes Bay)
Liz Hanna (Canterbury)
Maddy Campbell (Otago)
Manon Bonar (Canterbury)
Maria Hanabadi (Harbour)
Maude Rewha (Waikato)
Maui Paraki (WECA)
Meile-Rose Green (Bay of Plenty)
Melanie Vannoort (Canterbury)
Petra Manderson (Canterbury)
Pippa Henderson (Canterbury)
Zara Pocock (Harbour)

International Group

Anilise Fitzi - Harbour/ Sokol (Austria)
Cathy Porter - Canterbury/ Hillsborough Community College (Florida)
Charli Blackman - Harbour/ University of Mary (North Dakota)
Jenna Thorne - Otago/ University of Providence (Montana)
Marnie Ursem - Harbour/ University of North Carolina Wilmington (North Carolina)
Natasha Bannister - Tasman/ Newberry College (South Carolina)
Nia Surman - Canterbury/ Casper College (Wyoming)
Rachael Gunn - Harbour/ TSV Hartberg (Austria)
Rosa Vesty - Canterbury/ University of Iowa (Iowa)
Sarah Stratton - Bay of Plenty/ Marshall University (West Virginia)
Tamara Otene - Harbour/ Georgia Institute of Technology (Georgia)
Taylah Holdem - Canterbury/ Michigan State University (Michigan)

Volleyball New Zealand | Poirewa Aotearoa
Oceania Volleyball
Volleyball New Zealand Inc
Sports House, Stadium Drive,
Albany, Auckland, New Zealand