Talented youngsters on show at IPC Beach 2023
U-19 Women's competition was one of four at the IPC Beach Volleyball Championships. Photo by VNZ.

Talented youngsters on show at IPC Beach 2023

Young talent took centre stage at the New Zealand home of beach volleyball in Mt Maunganui this week as 80 teams gathered to contest the 2023 Volleyball New Zealand Interprovincial Beach Volleyball Championships.

Supported by Tauranga City Council and TECT, the event delivered four grades of youth competition, following pool play rounds on Tuesday and Wednesday, Thursday's finals day played out with some excellent volleyball played across all divisions with New Zealand coaches on hand to see the next generation of players in action.

The U-19 men’s event was capped by a pulsating see-saw, three-set final which eventually saw Harbour Volleyball’s Ryan Jefferson and Mateo Roa win out, recovering from losing the first set to claim a 19-21, 22-20, 15-12 victory.

In the U-19 women’s competition, Canterbury Volleyball pair of Tineke Hinton and Nia Surman saw off Harbour’s Kaia Buckley and Kalea Norton in two sets.

Harbour's U-17 women’s pair emulated the work of their U-19 men's side in claiming gold via another absorbing three-set win over Canterbury Volleyball’s Khonnah Vanilau and Charlotte Grey.

In the U-17 Men’s event, Waikato broke the Canterbury and Harbour stranglehold on the finals with Liam Smith and Jaxson Stone claiming gold after a thrilling three-set victory over Canterbury twins Ethan and Isaac Rademakers.

Volleyball New Zealand Inter-Provincial Beach Championships 2023
January 17-19

U-19 Women
Gold - Tineke Hinton/Nia Surman (Canterbury Volleyball)
Silver - Kaia Buckley/Kalea Norton (Harbour Volleyball)
Bronze - Kiana Stevenson/Holly Isherwood (Harbour Volleyball)

U-19 Men
Gold - Ryan Jefferson/Mateo Roa (Harbour Volleyball)
Silver - Jamie Julian/Calum Stewart (Volleyball Bay of Plenty)
Bronze - Davi Pacheco/John Petrucci (Harbour Volleyball)

U-17 Women
Gold - Devyn Golaboski/Ngaawahi Simpkins (Harbour Volleyball)
Silver - Khonnah Vanilau/Charlotte Grey (Canterbury Volleyball)
Bronze - Scarlett Somerville-Ryan/Maisey Lendrum (Harbour Volleyball)

U-17 Men
Gold - Liam Smith/Jaxson Stone (Waikato Volleyball)
Silver - Ethan Rademakers/Isaac Rademakers (Canterbury Volleyball)
Bronze - Jason Beom/Kyson Norton (Harbour Volleyball)