MVP honours for Glue, Manderson
Pines Men player Benjamin Glue. Photo by Julie Maree Photography

MVP honours for Glue, Manderson

Pines Men’s Benjamin Glue and SVC Silverbacks' Petra Manderson have capped an outstanding week at the 53rd Volleyball NZ Club Championships, being named the respective Most Valuable Players for the men’s and women’s competitions.

The MVP honour for Glue adds to a strong legacy for one New Zealand’s most decorated players in what could be his final Club Championships, his side finding a way back from 2-0 and 2-1 deficits in the semi-final and final to win the title in dramatic fashion on Saturday at Trustpower Baypark Arena in Tauranga.

Glue’s teammates Connor Gianotti (Mid) and Roy Ching (Outside Hitter) were also honoured in the tournament team while runners up SVC Silverbacks accounted for the other slots on the team with brothers Troy and Luke Hulston joined by Mana Placid and Ben Arnold.

In the women’s competition Manderson took out the MVP award as her side swept to the title dropping just one set throughout the tournament.

Manderson’s teammates Nicky Pio, Stacey Niao and Gabby Edmondson were also named to the tournament team while runners up East Coast Bays Thunder were represented by Hannah Davenhill and Hayley Flatz while semi-finalists Manukau South, the only team to win a set from SVC Silverbacks, had Ma’ama Vaipulu named also.

VNZ is also pleased confirm the 2023 Club Championships event will take place in Tauranga October 4-7.

Volleyball NZ Club Championships 2022 – Tournament Teams/Division 1 MVPs

Division 1 Men’s Tournament Team: Troy Hulston (SVC Silverbacks), Benjamin Glue (Pines Men), Roy Ching (Pines Men), Mana Placid (SVC Silverbacks), Connor Giannotti (Pines Men), Ben Arnold (SVC Silverbacks), Luke Hulston (SVC Silverbacks)

Division 1 Men’s MVP: Benjamin Glue (Pines Men)

Division 1 Women’s Tournament Team: Nicky Pio (SVC Silverbacks), Petra Manderson (SVC Silverbacks), Stacey Niao (SVC Silverbacks), Gabby Edmonson (SVC Silverbacks), Hannah Davenhill (ECB Thunder), Hayley Flatz (ECB Thunder), Ma’ama Vaipulu (Manukau South)

Division 1 Women’s MVP: Petra Manderson (SVC Silverbacks)

Division 2 Men’s Tournament Team: Matthew Mun (Capital Wolves B), Joshua Ovsenek (Saxton Storm Men), Joseph Winstanley (Sparta Men), Tyran Gillespie (Roto Vegas), Ash Aiono (Porirua Men), Daryl Farnham (Waitakere Rebels C), Jack McManaway (Hamilton Huskies), Tristan Hegglun (Harbour Raiders B), Randy Jiang - North Harbour Dragons

Division 2 Women’s Tournament Team: Maui Paraki (Waitakere Rebels A), Maude Rewha (University of Waikato), Elizabeth Mafi (Panthers), Brooke Smith (SVC Blackbacks Women), Tineke Hinton Smash VC Women A), Shana Ali (Eastern VC), Caitlin Studer (Harbour Raiders A), Isabelle Gosar (Western BOP Phoenix Blue), Seraphine Williams (Otepoti Vikings)

For full results and information from the 53rd VNZ Club Championships, click here.