The 2024 VNZ Tertiary Beach Championship is proudly supported by


8 December 2023 (Friday) - 8 January 2024 (Friday)

Competition Date:

Friday, January 19, 2024 

Main Beach, Mt. Maunganui, Tauranga

Mens and Womens Pairs (Championship)

Entry Fee: $66

Players must be from the same tertiary institution and must be attending that tertiary institution full-time. Those entering 1st year in 2024 ARE eligible. Those who have just graduated in 2023 ARE also eligible.

Please email a copy of your student ID, acceptance letter or any proof of current enrolment to vnz1@volleyballnz.org.nz upon registration.

Mens and Womens Pairs (Open Grade)

Entry Fee: $66

Players must be studying in the tertiary level, whether full-time or part-time. Players can be from different tertiary institutions.
Please email a copy of your student ID, acceptance letter or any proof of current enrolment to vnz1@volleyballnz.org.nz upon registration.

Championships and Open grades may be merged depending on entries.

All participants must be VNZ registered members - please click the blue 'membership' button on the right-hand-side of your screen to register

Match Ball 
Only the official VNZ match ball (Mikasa VLS300) will be used for matches.
Two match balls per court will be provided.

Set Format
All matches will be best of 3 sets (2 sets to 21, 1 set to 15) with a 2-point advantage in all sets.
Adjustments to match length may be used by the organisers to meet draw requirements.
End switch every 7 points in sets to 21 and every 5 points in sets to 15.

Match Protocol
Teams must be present in the court at least 10 minutes prior to the scheduled time of their match.
Teams will have a minimum 5 minutes to warm up with balls on their side of the court. Teams will then have 5 minutes to warm up together at the net.
At the Organiser’s discretion, matches may be moved to a court differing from that scheduled in the Draw.

Coaching of any kind by anyone is not permitted from the first serve of the set until the end of each set. Coaches may approach the players after each set, but not during the set. Coaches must sit at the side (middle of the court) or switch ends every 7 points with their players.

Cannot be called by anyone other than the team captain.

Match/Set Defaults
Any team that is not ready to take the court (2 players) at the scheduled start time of the match, or 10 minutes after the completion of the previous match (if behind schedule) will lose the first set by default.

If 15 minutes after the commencement of the match, the team has not yet arrived, the match is forfeited. Extenuating circumstances will be considered by the Tournament Director, to delay or reschedule a match if circumstances warrant.

ALL Defaults must be handled in conjunction with a tournament official. Duty teams cannot decide on a default without informing the tournament office.

Each team is required to provide: − A first referee and a 2nd referee/scorer
All — Failure to properly complete duty will result in a $20 fine. — Teams must supply their own whistles.
If you do not have a Friendly Manager login yet, click the MEMBERSHIP button below and register through there. 

Previous Champions

2020 Women - Katie Sadlier / Zara Pocock (University of Auckland)
2020 Men - Giles Black / Reisinger (Lincoln University)

2021 Women - Brittany Allison-Carnie / Renei Ursem (Massey University)
2021 Men - Jack McManaway / Bae Fountain (University of Waikato)

2022 Men - Fountain/ Mcmanaway (University of Waikato)
2022 Women - Sadlier/ Pepi-Milton (University of Auckland)
2022 Women (Open) -  Bennett/ Tock (WINTEC/ University of Waikato)

2023 Women - Allison-Carnie/ Hauraki (AUT)
2023 Men - McManaway/ Herman (University of Waikato)
Volleyball New Zealand | Poirewa Aotearoa
Oceania Volleyball
Volleyball New Zealand Inc
Sports House, Stadium Drive,
Albany, Auckland, New Zealand