Latest News

1000 match milestone for "Sooty"
New Zealand's leading Beach Volleyball Referee Richard Casutt reached a significant milestone on 19th July when he officiated at his 1000th match on the World Tour. Volleyball New Zealand is delighted that Richard has reached this milestone and continues to officiate on the World Tour, at the Olympic Games and on our local beaches.
New Zealand's leading Beach Volleyball Referee Richard Casutt reached a significant...
Island Select Teams on Podium at AJVC

Three of the four New Zealand teams achieved podium places at the recent Australian Junior Volleyball Championships. Leading the way, the North Island U17 Select Women triumphed over Queensland White 3-0 in their final claiming the gold medals and the trophy.The South Island Select team claimed bronze in the same grade with a 3-1 win over Victoria East.

The North Island Select Under 17 Men were also in the finals but had to settle for the silver medals as Queensland White reversed the finishing order in the Women's final prevailing 3-2. 

The South Island Select boys finished in fourth place.


Three of the four New Zealand teams achieved podium places at the recent Australian...

Junior Champs Underway


A large turnout of Year 9 & 10 school volleyball teams will be vieing for the 'Island Champion' titles at the Volleyball New Zealand North and South Island Junior Secondary School Championships, being held simultaneously in Tauranga and Christchurch.

The North Island Championships take place at the ASB Baypark Arena in Mount Maunganui from Monday 25th to Friday 29th November, with a field of 49 Girls' teams and 42 Boys' teams participating. Favourites for the top division Girls' title are a raft of local Tauranga teams from Otumoetai, Bethlehem, Mount Maunganui and Tauranga Girls Colleges. Their main challenge is expected to come from Whakatane's Trident High, North Harbour's Rangitoto and Orewa Colleges, and Rotorua's Western Heights High. The dominance of Bay of Plenty sides in the top seedings is expected to draw large crowds throughout the week.

The top Boys' section features a wider spread of teams, with Western Heights leading the way from Orewa and North Harbour's Westlake Boys High, with South Auckland side Manurewa High, and Otumoetai, Bethlehem and Rangitoto all expected to mount a credible challenge. Also featuring at the event will be Girls' and Boys teams from Northland, Auckland, Waikato, Taranaki, Hawkes Bay/Poverty Bay, Manawatu and Wellington.

Down south, the Island event will be played in Christchurch at Pioneer Stadium, and Middleton Grange school, with 39 Girls' and 22 Boy's teams in action from 25th to 28th November.

Girls favouritism is shared equally between Tasman region schools Nayland and Waimea Colleges, and Nelson and Marlborough Girls Colleges, and Christchurch teams from Riccarton, Burnside and Aranui High Schools, and Middleton Grange school.

The southern Boys' title is expected to be fought between schools from the same regions – Nelson, Nayland and Waimea Colleges, with Riccarton and Shirley High being joined from further south by Timaru and Otago Boys High teams in the top seeded positions.

View all 'News' listings